My go-to meal…

I would consider myself a “volume eater”…I need to eat A LOT of food to feel satisfied.  This is one of my favorite go-to meals at the moment.  I pair a lean protein, some healthy satiating fats and tons of nutrient dense, fibrous veggies that fill me up on relatively few calories…

 

For this particular meal I used…

  • a bed of baby spinach
  • cucumber and yellow squash
  • fresh salsa
  • avocado
  • scrambled egg whites and one “dippy” whole egg

My favorite thing about this meal?  You can pull it together using whatever fresh produce and proteins you have on hand.  If I were to use this as a pre- or post-workout meal, I’d probably scale back the fat content (i.e. add less avocado and nix the whole egg in favor of more egg whites or a different protein altogether) and add a starchy complex carbohydrate (quinoa would be an ideal option).
Real food that’s really filling, not to mention tasty.  What more could you ask for?

Posted on August 10, 2012, in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dippy eggs? You must be PA Dutch ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

